Kaleidoscope: Original Soundtrack – Colorfully Nostalgic

I must admit, I’m behind the times when it comes to new things on the web; it’s partially my dial-up modem’s fault, and partially totally not my fault. But, hey, better late than never, right?

Just a few days ago, Overclocked Remix released its first original soundtrack composed by Another Soundscape (including one track by djpretzel), and it’s quite a treat!

I’d never heard of the game, Kaleidoscope, until now. It appears to be a platformer developed by Morsel Games for Xbox Live Indie Games. Quite interesting!

Every track here takes a bit of “new” and mixes it with the best of the “old”. In other words, if you love hearing some 8-bit music in a mix, you’ll love this soundtrack. From the beginning to the end, you can see the colorful worlds that make up this game just through the music.

I hate to pick “favorites”, since all the music sounds wonderful, but I admit I can’t stop listening to “variations on navigation (map theme)”. If Super Mario Galaxy had been released on the NES (or even SNES), I think that’s what the map music would’ve sounded like. Beautiful.

To put it in a few words, it’s colorfully nostalgic.

You can check out the thread here, and find the .torrent file here.

Here’s a big thanks to Another Soundscape, djpretzel, and everyone for releasing this original soundtrack!

